Sweet!

I am not big on desserts. A lifelong fear of the diabetes strain that runs in my family made me train myself NOT to eat them. I have sometimes amazed myself with an ability to refuse even the most tempting of concoctions. Yet, there is always that special situation where I am unable to refuse. Herein, I write about one of them.

One dessert I LOVE and seldom refuse is cheesecake. My Aunt Margie made one that was so frothy and delicious, my mother even wrote it down in her diary. Thank God she did that because Aunt Margie is no longer able to make cheesecakes and my mother has passed on.

I have always been totally happy (as have been my dinner guests) with Aunt Margie’s recipe. But, inevitably, we cooks know there is always room for improvement.Today, I experimented (successfully) with a recipe for mini-cheesecakes that blew my historic resolve to smithereens.

I discovered the recipe a while back in a Country Living magazine. I made it a couple of times before, but was unhappy with the result = too sweet, too dense, too much work making the crusts. With a few modifications to tweak it toward ease and healthfulness, I have now made the recipe my own. It is simple, inexpensive, cute and delicious!

I shall soon deliver my scrumptious result to a neighbor — so I won’t eat them all!

Mini Cheesecakes

Mini Cheesecakes

MINI CHEESECAKES
garnished w/honeyed pecans

INGREDIENTS

12x cookies (pecan sandies)
3 bricks cream cheese
1 ¼ cup sugar (white)
3x eggs
2 tbs flour
1/8 tsp salt
1 tbs vanilla extract

GARNISH

1 cup pecans (whole) mixed with ½ cup honey


DIRECTIONS

LINE 12x muffin tin cups w/paper liners
PRESS one cookie into each cup & SET ASIDE
USE a hand mixer to BEAT together cream cheese, sugar, eggs, flour, salt & vanilla (in order given) until smooth and creamy
SPOON mixture evenly into muffin cups
BAKE @ 300 for 30 minutes (until custard sets)
COOL
GARNISH each cheesecake w/a few honeyed pecans
REFRIGERATE until ready to serve

3 Comments

  1. Marcia Hayden said,

    13 October 2014 at 9:06 pm

    Ok–I’m dense–how much is 3 bricks?

    • Sharon Leslie Morgan said,

      13 October 2014 at 9:08 pm

      A “brick” is the foil wrapped package in which you buy cream cheese. For this recipe, you need 3 of them.

  2. Patricia said,

    8 October 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Oh yum. I too can often walk away from a dessert. But I prefer small bites like this and will try this. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

