Let Us Eat Cake

I do not really like icky sweet desserts. I am the person at the wedding or birthday party who will pig out on the savory delights of a buffet table and then eschew the sweets. But that doesn’t mean that, every now and then, I give in to my sweet tooth.

This ultra rich recipe comes from my ex-husband’s aunt = “Big Sistah.”

Having not much else to do on this rainy day, I made it… and IMMEDIATELY set off on a mission to give it away to my neighbors, lest I eat it all.

Tomorrow, I will go on a diet 🙂

Big Sistah's Pound Cake

Big Sistah’s Pound Cake

INGREDIENTS

6 large eggs (room temperature)
2 cups sugar (natural)
1 cup sugar (white)
1/4 cup lime juice
1 cup cream cheese (softened)
1 cup butter (unsalted)
1 cup sour cream
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/2 tsp lemon flavoring
1/2 tsp baking soda
3 cups flour (unbleached)

 

 

DIRECTIONS

PREPARE Bundt pan with butter spray & flour
MIX all ingredients except flour in order given
MIX well
ADD flour
MIX well again
POUR mixture into prepared pan
BAKE @ 325 for about 1.5 hours
COOL for 15 minutes before you TURN out

Leave a Reply

