Mangoooooooooooooooooooo

I LOVE mango… and I am SO READY for warm weather that I decided to create a little taste of summer right now.

I had my first taste of this delicious fruit when I lived in Jamaica. I quickly learned to gobble up this delectable delight without reserve — letting the juice drip down my chin as I devoured its glory.

Although it grows wildly on local trees, Jamaicans are quick to point out that there are many different varieties (more than 50). Cultivated for more than 6,000 years (long before Jesus), they are native to southeast Asia and India. During ripe season, mangos are so plentiful they fall off of trees. Scooped up with a smile by lucky passers-by, they are eaten right on the spot.

Scientifically, mango is a member of the Anachardiaceae family which includes poison ivy, cashew and pistachio nuts. What a provenance!

What else can I say?  This weekend I experimented with several different recipes that incorporated the bounty of a supermarket sale. The best thing I made was mango sorbet, which I will enjoy this week and beyond.

Ice Cream - Mango SorbetINGREDIENTS

2x mango (fresh, pitted & chopped)
3 cups mango juice (with pulp)
2 tbs lime juice
1 cup sugar (natural)

DIRECTIONS

USE blender & ice cream maker
MIX mango w/mango juice, lime juice and sugar
PROCESS in blender until smooth
CHILL mixture in freezer for 1 hour
PLACE mixture into ice cream maker
PROCESS until firm (about 20 minutes)

Leave a Reply

