Banana Manna

Bananas

On cold, wintry weekends when I have no desire to go outside, I inevitably end up in my kitchen. After looking around for odds and ends with the potential to be transformed in something good to eat, I hunt through my library of cookbooks for inspiration.

Today, I found two bananas, going soft and mottled with brown. These humble renegades of breakfast past called forth a rush of memories: banana pudding, bananas on fire, banana splits, Bananarama, Irie life in Jamaica, Harry Belafonte singing “Deo” …. hmmmmm….. banana bread!

Bamba!

My discovery quickly evolved into another more practical idea …. how warm and toasty the kitchen would feel when the oven was hot… punctuated with the keen smell of bread cooking inside.

And so… what did I do? I made banana bread — of course!

I can taste it already: Tonight’s after dinner treat and then, tomorrow, spread generously with cream cheese for breakfast.

This is my special version, aggrandized with walnuts and yellow raisins.

Banana Nut Bread

Banana Bread

½ cup oil (vegetable)
¾ cup sugar (white)
½ cup sugar (soft brown)
2x eggs
¾ cup milk (whole)
2x bananas (mashed)
2 cups flour
1 tsp salt
3 ½ tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup walnuts (chopped)
1 cup raisins (yellow)

 

MIX oil, sugar, eggs, milk & bananas in a large bowl
ADD salt, baking powder, flour & vanilla
MIX well
ADD walnuts & raisins
MIX well
POUR mixture equally into 2 oiled & floured loaf pans
BAKE about 1 1/2 hours @ 350 (until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean)
COOL before slicing

2 Comments

  1. victoria said,

    27 October 2013 at 11:04 pm

    um… there is no flour on here!!!!!

    • Sharon Leslie Morgan said,

      27 October 2013 at 11:10 pm

      YIKES! Thanks for telling me. I fixed it.


Leave a Reply

