Peachy Keen

It is peach season — time to pull out the creativity with recipes that satisfy our taste buds today and await our need for something sweet in the cold winter months to come.

As a girl with southern sensibilities, I always thought peaches were as American as apple pie. Well, shut my mouth when I learned this succulent delight is native to China! According to Wikipedia, they “were mentioned in Chinese writings as far back as the 10th century BC and were a favoured fruit of kings and emperors.”

On Saturday, I hit the local farm stand to stock up. The price was ridiculous at more than $1.50 per pound. If I were in the “peach state” of Georgia, I bet they would have been less than a dollar. In any case, I swallowed hard and bought a few pounds, handing over my money with regret. I then high tailed it back home to contemplate what to do with my treasure.

I immediately processed a few jars of preserve for winter. Then, I made some ice cream that was sooooooooo good…. I reverted to childhood and licked the bowl and stirring hand of the processor. It took a great deal of discipline to not consume the entire contents of the freezing container.

The secret in the recipe that follows is the peach schnapps…. Oooooooooooooooooooo…. what a blast of flavor! (Hopefully, I will have company soon so I can use it as a topping on some peach cobbler — maybe this weekend?)

INGREDIENTS

8X ripe peaches (peeled and chopped)
1 ½ cups half & half
¼ cup milk (whole)
4X eggs
1 cup sugar (light brown)
½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
4 tbs peach schnapps

DIRECTIONS

PUREE peaches in blender
ADD all other ingredients
BLEND well
COOL in freezer for a couple of hours
POUR into ice cream maker & process for about 30 minutes

Leave a Reply

