Pot Likker Dreams

A Pot of Greens

I had a dream last night, the contents of which stuck with me — which is rare.

The dream said I should name this blog “Pot Likker”.

As you may or may not know, pot likker is a staple of southern cuisine.

It is the delicious and nutritious residue that is left over in the cookpot after one prepares greens.

Traditionally, it is sopped up using a piece of equally delicious cornbread.

In the South, everybody enjoys pot likker, although I think of it more as poor people’s food.

In my own life, there were times when it wasn’t just the by-product of a meal, it WAS the meal.

What I think about information is a lot like pot likker.

It is the knowledge left in the pot when we ruminate on our mental meals.

On these pages, I hope to share my thoughts about food, history and culture,

along with recipes for some of my favorite dishes.

It is my hope that readers will find some modicum of wisdom in my thinking.

Get your bowl. Dinner is about to be served!

1 Comment

  1. 5 June 2010 at 6:54 pm

    I love this! Thank you for sharing and I’ll keep stopping in to sop on it…:)


Leave a Reply

